people › alumni

Alumni

PhD Alumni

Dr. M. R. MacPherson 1970
Dr. John G. Huber jghub@hotmail.com 1971
Dr. William A. Fertig Deceased 1977
Prof. Lance E. DeLong Professor - University of Kentucky lander@uky.edu 1977
Dr. H. Bruce MacKay SAIC, Inc. 1977
Prof R. William McCallum Senior Scientist and Prof. (Retired), The Ames Laboratory USDOE, Iowa State University. McCallum Consulting LLC, Santa Fe NM Rwmccallum@msn.com 1977
Prof. Alejandro L. Cabrera Professor - Pontificia Universidad Catolica acabrera@fis.puc.cl 1980
Dr. Lawrence D. Woolf Physicist - General Atomics Larry.Woolf@gat.com 1980
Dr. H. Christopher Hamaker Sr. Member of Technical Staff - Applied Materials Inc. 1981
Prof. Carlo U. Segre Professor - Illinois Institute of Technology Carlo.Segre@iit.edu 1981
Dr. Gregory P. Meisner Staff Researcher - General Motors Global Research & Development gregory.p.meisner@gm.com 1982
Dr. John E. Turner Instructor - College of Business, Oregon State University 1982
Dr. Steven E. Lambert Industrial Physics Program Manager, American Physical Society selsanjose@gmail.com 1983
Prof. Yoshiteru Maeno Professor - Kyoto University maeno@scphys.kyoto-u.ac.jp 1984
Dr. Michael E. Wire Northrop Grumman Corporation mike.wire@ngc.com 1984
Dr. Kuo-Nan Yang AIWA Co. Kuo-nan.Yang@headway.com 1985
Prof. Jenq-Wei Chen Professor - National Taiwan University jwchen@phys.ntu.edu.tw 1986
Dr. Yacine Dalichaouch Technology Consultant - Viasat Business Development ydalichaouch@qm.com 1988
Prof. Michael W. McElfresh Argonne National Laboratory and Adjunct Professor - University of California, Davis mcelfresh1@llnl.gov 1988
Prof. Patricia K. Tsai Astronomy and Physics Faculty / Geography Co-Chair - College of Alameda ptsai@peralta.edu 1988
Dr. Hu Zhou Medical Physicist - Community Cancer Center Roseburg Oregon huz@gammamedica.com 1988
Prof. Jeongsoo Kang Professor - The Catholic University of Korea kangjs@catholic.ac.kr 1989
Prof. John Jacob Neumeier Professor - Montana State University neumeier@physics.montana.edu 1989
Dr. Saied Ghamaty Chief Technology Officer - Hi-Z Technology, Inc. s.ghamaty@hi-z.com 1990
Prof. Bo Wha Lee Professor - Hankuk University of Foreign Studies bwlee@hufs.ac.kr 1990
Dr. Edward A. Early Physicist - National Institute of Standards and Technology tedearly@aol.com 1991
Dr. Ming Wu 1991
Dr. Christopher L. Seaman President - First Choice Business Brokers CSEAMAN@esli.com 1992
Prof. Lisa Paulius Associate Professor - Western Michigan University lisa.Paulius@wmich.edu 1993
Dr. Seung-Ho Han 1994
Dr. Stefano Spagna Chief Technical Officer - Quantum Design stefano.spagna@qdusa.com 1995
Dr. Moo-Sung Chae Novellus Systems Inc. MooSung.Chae@NOVELLUS.com 1996
Dr. Ricky Chau Staff Scientist - Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory chau2@llnl.gov 1997
Dr. Donald A. Gajewski Engineering Manager - Cree Inc. donald.gajewski@freescale.com 1998
Dr. Neil Dilley Research Assistant - Purdue University ndilley@purdue.edu 1999
Dr. Robert Dickey Senior Research Scientist, Quasar Federal Systems rdickey@qdusa.com 2001
Dr. Eric James Freeman Schlumberger freeman@princeton.oilfield.slb.com 2001
Dr. Eric Bauer Staff Scientist - Los Alamos National Laboratory edbauer@lanl.gov 2002
Dr. Vivien S. Zapf Staff Member - Los Alamos National Laboratory - Pulsed Field Facility vzapf@lanl.gov 2003
Dr. Neil Frederick Senior Project Analyst at IPA Institute OneirosSD@gmail.com 2005
Dr. Benjamin Taylor SPAWAR, San Diego benjamin.taylor4@navy.mil 2006
Dr. William Yuhasz Physicist - AMES National Laboratory Iowa State University yuhasz@iastate.edu 2006
Prof. Daniel Scanderbeg Assistant Professor - University of California, San Diego dscanderbeg@ucsd.edu 2007
Dr. Jason Jeffries Physicist - Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory jeffries4@llnl.gov 2007
Dr. Nicholas Butch Experimental Physicist - National Institute of Standards and Technology, Adjunct Assistant Professor - University of Maryland nicholas.butch@nist.gov 2008
Dr. Todd Sayles Production Engineer - Quantum Design todd.sayles@qdusa.com 2008
Dr. Ryan Baumbach Research Faculty I - National High Magnetic Field Lab, Florida State University baumbach@magnet.fsu.edu 2009
Dr. Diego Zocco Postdoctoral Research Scientist - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology diego.zocco@kit.edu 2011
Dr. Noravee Kanchanavatee Chulalongkorn University noravee.k@chula.ac.th 2012
Dr. Kevin Huang Postdoctoral Researcher - Fudon University, China khuang@fudan.edu.cn 2014
Dr. Colin A. McElroy Project Engineer - Vacuum Process Engineering colinm@vpei.com 2015
Dr. Sooyoung Jang Post-Doctoral Fellow - Berkeley Lab 2015

Post-Doc Alumni

Dr. John G. Huber jghub@hotmail.com 1971-?
Dr. Carlos A. Luengo University of Campinas, Brazil luengo@ifi.unicamp.br 1972-1975
Prof R. William McCallum Senior Scientist and Prof. (Retired), The Ames Laboratory USDOE, Iowa State University. McCallum Consulting LLC, Santa Fe NM Rwmccallum@msn.com 1977-1978
Dr. William A. Fertig Deceased 1974-1979
Prof. Zygmunt Henkie Institute of Low Temperature and Structure Research, Polish Academy of Sciences 1974-1979
Dr. Manuel Tovar 1977-1979
Dr. Lawrence D. Woolf Physicist - General Atomics Larry.Woolf@gat.com 1980
Dr. Jose F. Suassuna Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil 1979-1980
Dr. Brian C. Sales Corporate Fellow - Oak Ridge National Laboratory salesbc@ornl.gov 1976-1981
Dr. J. Beille 1981-1982
Dr. Luc Brossard Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Toulouse 1981-1982
Dr. Michel Decroux University of Geneva, Switzerland 1982-1984
Dr. Steven E. Lambert Industrial Physics Program Manager, American Physical Society selsanjose@gmail.com 1983-1985
Dr. Christophe Rossel Emeritus Research Staff Member - IBM Zurich Research Laboratory rsl@zurich.ibm.com 1984-1986
Prof. Milton S. Torikachvili Professor - San Diego State University milton@sciences.sdsu.edu 1979-1987
Dr. Yacine Dalichaouch Technology Consultant - Viasat Business Development ydalichaouch@qm.com 1988-?
Prof. J. M. Ferreira Professor - Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil 1986-1988
Prof. John T. Markert Professor - University of Texas at Austin markert@physics.utexas.edu 1987-1989
Dr. Thomas Bjornholm Prorector, Professor - University of Copenhagen prorector-research@adm.ku.dk 1988-1990
Prof. Bo Wha Lee Professor - Hankuk University of Foreign Studies bwlee@hufs.ac.kr 1990-1991
Prof. Patricia K. Tsai Astronomy and Physics Faculty / Geography Co-Chair - College of Alameda ptsai@peralta.edu 1989-1991
Dr. Piero Visani Innovation Partnership Senior Manager - Nestle Research Center, Switzerland 1990-1991
Prof. Macro Antonio Lopez de la Torre University Professor - University of Castilla-La Mancha MarcoAntonio.Lopez@uclm.es 1990-1991
Dr. Gladys Nieva Centro Atomico Bariloche, Argentina 1989-1992
Prof. Renato F. Jardim Professor - Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil 1990-1992
Dr. Vagner B. Barbeta Centro Universitario da FEI, Brazil 1993
Dr. Kiichi L. Yoshiara Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Japan 1992-1993
Prof. Marcus Buchgeister Professor - Beuth University of Applied Sciences, Germany 1991-1993
Dr. Peter Allenspach Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland peter.allenspach@psi.ch 1991-1993
Prof. Carmen Almasan Professor of Physics - Kent State University calmasan@kent.edu 1989-1994
Dr. Christopher L. Seaman President - First Choice Business Brokers CSEAMAN@esli.com 1992-1995
Dr. Jan Herrmann Project Leader - National Measurement Institute Nanometrology, Australia jan.herrmann@measurement.gov.au 1992-1996
Dr. Seung-Ho Han 1995-1996
Prof. Gilles Triscone Research Coordinator, University of Applied Sciences of Geneva, Switzerland 1995-1997
Dr. Andreas Amann Quantum Design, Inc. 1997-1999
Dr. Marcio C. de Andrade SPAWAR, San Diego mandrade@san.rr.com 1993-1999
Dr. Carlos Sirvent 1998-2000
Dr. Junho Kim 1998-2000
Dr. Shi Li Quantum Design, Inc. 1999-2001
Dr. Vivien S. Zapf Staff Member - Los Alamos National Laboratory - Pulsed Field Facility vzapf@lanl.gov 2003
Dr. Neil Frederick Independent Projects Analysis, Inc. 2005-2006
Prof. Pei-Chun Ho Associate Professor - Fresno State University peiho@csufresno.edu 2001-2007
Prof. Johnpierre Paglione Associate Professor - University of Maryland paglione@umd.edu 2004-2007
Prof. Tatsuya Yanagisawa Professor - Hokkaido University tatsuya@cris.hokudai.ac.jp 2005-2007
Dr. William Yuhasz Physicist - AMES National Laboratory Iowa State University yuhasz@iastate.edu 2006-2007
Dr. Benjamin Taylor SPAWAR, San Diego benjamin.taylor4@navy.mil 2006-2010
Dr. Ryan Baumbach Research Faculty I - National High Magnetic Field Lab, Florida State University baumbach@magnet.fsu.edu 2009-2010
Prof. Lei Shu Professor - Fudan University leishu@fudan.edu.cn 2008-2011
Dr. Marc Janoschek Staff Scientist - Los Alamos National Laboratory mjanoschek@lanl.gov 2009-2011
Prof. James Hamlin Assistant Professor - University of Florida jhamlin@phys.ufl.edu 2008-2012
Dr. Noravee Kanchanavatee Chulalongkorn University noravee.k@chula.ac.th 2012-2014
Prof. Bejamin White Assistant Professor - Central Washington University Benjamin.White@cwu.edu 2011-2015
Dr. Duygu Yazici Faculty of Health Sciences - Artvin Coruh University yazici.dyg@gmail.com 2011-2015

Masters Alumni

Prof. Daniel Scanderbeg Assistant Professor - University of California, San Diego dscanderbeg@ucsd.edu 2001
Christopher Thompson 2002
Columbine Robinson Senior Application Engineer - KLA-Tencor 2007
Keith Chan 2007
Dr. Kevin Huang Fudon University, China khuang@physics.ucsd.edu 2009
Eileen Gonzales 2009
Ivy Lum Engineer - Quantum Design, Inc. ilum@qdusa.edu 2014

Visiting Scholars

Sergei Bud'ko Ames National Laboratory
Dr. Peter Allenspach Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland peter.allenspach@psi.ch
Dr. Andreas Amann Quantum Design, Inc.
Prof. Nabil Y. Ayoub Dean of School of Basic Sciences and Humanities - German Jordanian University nabil.ayoub@gju.edu.jo
Dr. J. Beille
Prof. Lina Ben-Dor Professor - Hebrew University, Israel
Dr. Luc Brossard Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Toulouse
Prof. Thomasz Cichorek Professor - Institute of Low Temperature and Structure Research, Polish Academy of Sciences t.cichorek@int.pan.wroc.pl
D. H. Galvan
Prof. James C. Garland President Emeritus - Miami University
Prof. Richard Hake Professor Emeritus - Indiana University
Dr. Jan Herrmann Project Leader - National Measurement Institute Nanometrology, Australia jan.herrmann@measurement.gov.au
Prof. Zygmunt Henkie Institute of Low Temperature and Structure Research, Polish Academy of Sciences
M. Ishikawa
Prof. Renato F. Jardim Professor - Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil
Prof. Takao Kohara Research Professor and Emeritus Professor - University of Hyogo kohara@sci.u-hyogo.ac.jp
Prof. Hilbert v. Loehneysen Professor - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology hilbert.loehneysen@kit.edu
Prof. Macro Antonio Lopez de la Torre University Professor - University of Castilla-La Mancha MarcoAntonio.Lopez@uclm.es
Prof. Ana C. Mota Professor Emeritus - Eidengössische Technische Hochschule Zürich mota@solid.phys.ethz.ch
Prof. Sergio Moehlecke
Prof. Amar Nath Research Professor - University of North Carolina, Asheville anath@unca.edu
Prof. W. J. Nellis Associate of the Department of Physics - Harvard University nellis@physics.harvard.edu
Xavier Obradors Research Professor - Institute De Ciència De Materials De Barcelona obradors@icmab.es
A. Prekul Senior Researcher - M. N. Mikheev Institute of Metal Physics of Ural Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences
Prof. Andrzej Ślebarski Professor - Institute for Low Temperature and Structure Research, Polish Academy of Sciences Andrzej.Slebarski@us.edu.pl
M. Tachiki
R. Villar
Dr. Kiichi L. Yoshiara Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Japan
Prof. Xu Guang Zheng Professor - Saga University zheng@cc.saga-u.ac.jp
Prof. Tatsuya Yanagisawa Professor - Hokkaido University tatsuya@cris.hokudai.ac.jp
Dr. Hakan Gundogmus Assistant Associate Director - Hakkari University hakangundogmus@hakkari.edu.tr
Peter Riseborough Professor of Physics - Temple University prisebor@temple.edu

Stay in touch with old friends! We are compiling a list of our lab alumni. To include yourself on this list or update your information, please email Christine Coffey